Back to feedAnalyzed Oct 15, 2026 View on CourtListener
(claims allowed to proceed)CivilCourt of AppealsAppeal
Bonilla-Acosta v. Max Servs. Corp.
- Court
- Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of the State of New York
- Decided
- Oct 14, 2026
- Docket
- 2025-06353
- Judges
- Not listed
Cited as2026 NY Slip Op 05928
Detailed analysis & 3-line summary
AI breakdown
Where this case stands
Supreme Court: denied the defendants' motion for dismissing the complaint.
This decision · Appeal
(claims allowed to proceed)
TL;DR
- 1This case is about two people who say they were injured in a car accident.
- 2The court ruled to keep their claims active, denying the defendant's request to dismiss them.
- 3The key issue was whether the injuries were serious enough to warrant a case under insurance law.
Key issues
- 1
Should the court dismiss the injury claims against the defendants?
Holding · The court refused to dismiss the claims, stating insufficient evidence was provided.
Why it matters
This affects the rights of people injured in accidents to pursue compensation and hold wrongdoers accountable.
If you were the judge?
A car accident leaves two people injured. Should their claims be dismissed?
- 1Two people say they were hurt in a car crash involving a company vehicle.
- 2The company and its driver want the court to throw out their injury claims, saying they weren't seriously hurt.
- 3They failed to show proof that the injuries weren't caused by the accident, so the case continues.
Should the court dismiss the claims from the accident?
Vote to earn 10 Verdict Points
Parties
Appellant
Bonilla-Acosta
Appellee
Max Servs. Corp.
Roles are inferred from the case caption.
Opinion of the court
Bonilla-Acosta v Max Servs. Corp.
2026 NY Slip Op 05928
October 14, 2026
Appellate Division, Second Department
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
This decision is uncorrected and subject to revision before publication in the Official Reports.
Francis Bonilla-Acosta, et al., respondents,
v
Max Services Corp., et al., appellants, et al., defendant.
Supreme Court of the State of New York, Appellate Division, Second Judicial Department
Decided on October 14, 2026
2025-06353, (Index No. 717414/22)
Betsy Barros, J.P.
Lillian Wan
Donna-Marie E. Golia
Elena Goldberg Velazquez, JJ.
Gallo Vitucci Klar LLP, New York, NY (Debra A. Boccardi [Adler], Ryan S. Ulrich, and C. Briggs Johnson of counsel), for appellants.
Ikhilov & Associates (Erik Ikhilov and Beth S. Gereg, Smithtown, NY, of counsel), for respondents.
[*1]
DECISION & ORDER
In an action to recover damages for personal injuries, the defendants Max Services Corp. and Marco Miranda appeal from an order of the Supreme Court, Queens County (Ulysses B. Leverett, J.), dated May 8, 2025. The order, insofar as appealed from, denied those defendants' motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint insofar as asserted against them on the ground that the plaintiffs did not sustain a serious injury within the meaning of Insurance Law § 5102(d) as a result of the subject accident.
ORDERED that the order is affirmed insofar as appealed from, with costs.
The plaintiffs commenced this action to recover damages for personal injuries that they allegedly sustained in a motor vehicle accident. The defendants Max Services Corp. and Marco Miranda (hereinafter together the defendants) moved for summary judgment dismissing the complaint insofar as asserted against them on the ground that the plaintiffs did not sustain a serious injury within the meaning of Insurance Law § 5102(d) as a result of the accident. In an order dated May 8, 2025, the Supreme Court, inter alia, denied the motion. The defendants appeal.
The defendants failed to meet their prima facie burden of establishing that the plaintiffs did not sustain a serious injury within the meaning of Insurance Law § 5102(d) as a result of the accident (see Toure v Avis Rent A Car Sys., 98 NY2d 345, 355; Gaddy v Eyler, 79 NY2d 955, 956-957). With respect to the plaintiff Francis Bonilla-Acosta, the defendants did not submit
competent medical evidence establishing, prima facie, that Bonilla-Acosta did not sustain a serious injury to the cervical and lumbar regions of his spine under the permanent consequential limitation of use or significant limitation of use categories of Insurance Law § 5102(d) (see Prado v Town/Village of Harrison, 244 AD3d 884, 886). Similarly, with respect to the plaintiff Dinaili Andujar-Martinez, the defendants did not submit competent medical evidence establishing, prima facie, that Andujar-Martinez did not sustain a serious injury to the cervical and lumbar regions of her spine, her left shoulder, or her left wrist under the permanent consequential limitation of use or significant limitation of use categories of Insurance Law § 5102(d) (see id.).
Moreover, the defendants failed to establish, prima facie, that any injuries allegedly sustained by the plaintiffs were not caused by the accident. In support of their motion, the defendants submitted, among other things, reports of Richard A. Bandstra, a biomechanical expert, in which Bandstra opined, inter alia, that the accident did not generate sufficient force to cause the [*2]alleged injuries to Bonilla-Acosta's right shoulder, right knee, and the cervical and lumbar regions of his spine, or to Andujar-Martinez's left shoulder, left wrist, and the cervical and lumbar regions of her spine (see Osorio v Punjab Enter. Inc., 215 AD3d 494, 494; Holmes v Brini Tr. Inc., 123 AD3d 628, 628). However, Bandstra's opinions were based, in part, on his conclusions that, based upon his review of the plaintiffs' medical records, the alleged injuries to the cervical and lumbar regions of the plaintiffs' spines were due to degenerative conditions and not causally related to the accident. Thus, although Bandstra "demonstrated that, based on his skill, training, education, and experience as a biomechanical engineer, he was qualified to render an opinion as to whether the accident could have generated enough force to cause the plaintiff[s'] injuries" (Vasquez v Coastal Charter Serv. Corp., 240 AD3d 822, 823), he did not demonstrate that he was qualified to render a medical opinion as to causation (see Martinez v Quintana, 138 AD3d 791, 793). Moreover, Bandstra's conclusions were based, in part, on his rejection of the plaintiffs' deposition testimonies as to how their injuries occurred (see Cassano v Hagstrom, 5 NY2d 643, 646). Under these circumstances, Bandstra's expert reports were insufficient to establish, prima facie, that the plaintiffs' injuries were not causally related to the accident (cf. Osorio v Punjab Enter. Inc., 215 AD3d at 495; Holmes v Brini Tr. Inc., 123 AD3d at 628-629).
The defendants failed to establish, prima facie, that the plaintiffs did not sustain a serious injury under the 90/180-day category of the version of Insurance Law § 5102(d) in effect at the time the plaintiffs commenced this action (see Rodriguez v McCullough, 184 AD3d 735, 735-736; Ji Hae Kim v Quintanilla, 175 AD3d 476, 476-477).
The defendants' remaining contention is without merit.
Accordingly, the Supreme Court properly denied the defendants' motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint insofar as asserted against them on the ground that the plaintiffs did not sustain a serious injury within the meaning of Insurance Law § 5102(d) as a result of the accident.
BARROS, J.P., WAN, GOLIA and GOLDBERG VELAZQUEZ, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Darrell M. Joseph
Clerk of the Court